by cshelton
Right. That a familiar has four abilities, all usable, with one stronger was not confusing to me. It took a while to confirm this in the rules, but it seemed straight-forward.However, the statement "[Y]ou cannot recruit or use them in any other way than interaction." is very confusing. It apparently doesn't mean what it states. It really means that you cannot recruit them in any other way, but you can *use* them outside of interaction. The parenthetical remark afterward reads like a thematic justification (fluff text to help you remember the rule). But, I guess it was really meant to mean "not really *any* other way, but only couple of other ways are disallowed."
But the end result of this discussion has been helpful. I think I understand how they are supposed to be used and I will now ignore the sentence that my brain cannot fathom. Thank you all for applying your own brains to save mine. :D