by theillknight
Medhu wrote:
Hi
I encountered an enemy with Arcane Immunity while I had "Banner of Fear" Lost Legion Artifact 2
The text on my version of this card is:
"Assign this to a unit you control. During the Block phase of combat, you may spend this unit to cancel one _enemy attack_. If you do, Fame +1"
If I read rules p.6: "..... While the enemy itself is protected, its attacks are not. If an effect reduces an enemy attack or affects it in any other way , it can also be used against the attack of an enemy with Arcane immunity"
Medhu
I encountered an enemy with Arcane Immunity while I had "Banner of Fear" Lost Legion Artifact 2
The text on my version of this card is:
"Assign this to a unit you control. During the Block phase of combat, you may spend this unit to cancel one _enemy attack_. If you do, Fame +1"
If I read rules p.6: "..... While the enemy itself is protected, its attacks are not. If an effect reduces an enemy attack or affects it in any other way , it can also be used against the attack of an enemy with Arcane immunity"
Medhu
This is the proper interpretation. Banner of Fear's basic ability, like other effects that cancel an enemy attack, are effective against enemies with Arcane Immunity. However, other effects, like that of the Illusionist, Chill, Amotep Freezers, or Whirlwind, are not effective against Arcane Immune enemies since they target the enemy itself, and not its attack(s).
However, the stronger effect of the Banner does not affect enemies with Arcane Immunity, since the effect impacts the enemy and not the enemy's attack.